Whole Foods Superfood Salad

Ingredients:
Kale, chopped
Napa cabbage, shredded
Carrots, shredded
Grape tomatoes, sliced in half
Sunflower seeds
Blueberries
Cashews, chopped
Red onion, sliced (& optional: not if I’m making it for lunch at work!)

Dressing
1/4 C Apple cider vinegar
1/2 C Olive oil
1 cup Acai berry juice
Cayenne
Salt
Pepper
Garlic, optional

I picked up this salad at the Whole Foods deli a few months ago and became totally obsessed with it. The colors are beautiful. The flavors are fresh, sweet, savory and clean. It is packed with superfoods and literally makes me feel like going out and running a mile! (And I never otherwise feel like running a mile.) This salad is actually guaranteed to make you happy…seriously!

Do you ever get cravings and think your body is trying to tell you what it needs? I firmly believe in listening to my body, and sometimes (often) it actually tells me I need to eat something green.  I get this reminder a lot…it’s hard to incorporate green veggies into a busy lifestyle; they’re not served in the drive thru! But I’m always trying to make time to prepare a big salad like this on Sunday to last the week or I’ll at least grab something good at the Whole Foods deli. Steamed broccoli or green beans can’t be the only easy to fix veggie on the table. So try this salad as your go to side dish. It will stay fresh all week…but it’s so delicious it may not last that long!

2 responses to “Whole Foods Superfood Salad”

  1. I get this salad at my local Fred Meyer store. It is absolutely the best thing I have ever eaten. And so healthy it makes me want to do a 40 minute weight workout then a 3 mile hike. And I do!

  2. I add goji berries, chia seed, and use sweet onion instead of red onion (it’s less intrusive). All in all it is always a hit even when I have to make unforeseen substitutions, doesn’t matter how picky the eater, everyone loves this.

Leave a comment